Archinect
anchor

China, China, China...

Without sounding like Donald Trump, I want to talk about China. 

I was offered a position at a young, international firm, 40-60 employees, working on high profile, interesting cultural/mixed use projects in Asia, Europe and North America. The position is based in Beijing and I was hoping I could get some advice on salary expectations, living tips, thoughts feeling etc...

I've got 6 years experience working in international design-focussed practices, and whilst I haven't worked in East Asia before, have worked in the Middle East for 2 years.

Feb 4, 16 10:58 am
x-jla

China is about to implode.  I wouldn't change my life around in such a gloomy looking economy .

Feb 4, 16 11:45 am  · 
 · 
Victhor

Have you heard about air pollution problems and the climate of Beijing?, do you really want to live there? For an architect with your experience it should be easy to get a job like that one anywhere in China if you look for it. 

Feb 4, 16 5:39 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

Beijing is not a fun place to live.

Feb 4, 16 6:12 pm  · 
 · 

Go work in WalMart, it's the next closest thing to being in China.

Feb 4, 16 6:23 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

Unlike (I assume) the responses so far, I've actually worked and studied in China. I'll drop a response in here soon when I have some time to compose it.

Not that the responses above me are way off the mark...

Feb 4, 16 6:52 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

I have extensive experience working in Beijing. I was basically commuting there for two years. I wasn't living there full time, but several of my colleagues were, and I'm pretty familiar with their experiences as well as my own.

Feb 4, 16 6:59 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

I think that most of the responses here are quite subjective.