Archinect
anchor

Do courtyard buildings make sense in the Midwest climate?

This freaking awesome and wonderful building by Richard and Bauer makes me think again about courtyards.

I've always loved courtyard buildings.  Growing up in the desert southwest, courtyards were private, shady places where a small amount of water would perceptually cool a larger area. I was more used to them on a small residential scale, but there are lots of bigger ones, too.

This space in the new ENR building at UofA actually reminds me a lot of the original courtyard of the College of Architecture, also at UofA, where I studied. (By the time I attended that courtyard had been roofed over into exactly the kind of vast air-conditioned atrium space that R+B wanted to avoid in this building.)

So now I live in the US Midwest, and courtyard houses (or any scale building) aren't really a typology here. There are courtyard houses in China and Germany, but they were also based on fortifications. I'm not sure they make sense here.  The climate changes so drastically that general shade isn't as important as seasonal sunshading is.  I don't know that courtyards are a benefit with tornados....

Does anyone know of good Midwest courtyard typologies? Or should I just move back to the desert?

Dec 15, 15 11:06 am

Four-story courtyard apartment buildings were built all over Chicago throughout the 1920s. The ones that have been properly maintained are still pretty nice... Far nicer than most vernacular housing that was being built in NYC at the same time.

Dec 15, 15 11:58 am  · 
 · 
gwharton

Those early courtyard buildings were built that way primarily for natural light and ventilation for high density development in the era before HVAC and ubiquitous artificial lighting.

In the midwest climate, without the need for those things, courtyards probably don't make much sense anymore, which is why you don't see them as much (also, the codes all changed too).