Archinect
anchor

US Building Codes and Zoning Laws

thompson's gazelle

Hello all, just a short question for you who work in the US.

I'm trying to land a full-time architecture job in the states in a couple of years and get licensed, and I'm curious about the basic structure of architecture-related regulations in the US.

I did go to college and gradschool in the states, but have put little effort in structure/code classes like many other colleagues of mine (yes a very stupid decision in hindsight). Now that I've been working in a different country for 2+ years where regulations are very complicated, I've been noticing how important knowing the right laws and regulations are in architecture. So, with my end goal being becoming a licensed architect in the US, I thought I would start looking into US building regulations and get myself prepped with ARE and practice in the states (I know that learning from a book is very different from learning from practice, but give me a little help).

In the country I'm working in, there's a law for general architecture, law for residential architecture, urban regulations, egress regulations, parking law, landscape regulations and what not... All these laws are interrelated, but discretely categorized as separate regulations. From what I remember, the regulations in the US had been a little less complex--correct me if I'm wrong on that.

All I remember from my years in the states are IBC, ADA, Local Zoning regulations, Fire related codes which I can't recall the name of--maybe I can add regulations related to historic preservation in certain areas? What else should I look into? I'm definitely going to purchase Building Codes Illustrated, but have no idea what else might help.

Dec 9, 15 7:34 pm
no_form