Archinect
anchor

Nude drawings in portfolio

Mr.Splash

Hi all, I am a high school student planning to apply for top Canadian and UK schools such as Cambrige, UCL, and McGill. Recently, my art teacher recommended doing a nude drawing based on the portfolio instruction's emphasis on life drawing. However, I do not feel very comfortable with it but am willing to do it if Colleges prefer it over other alternatives.

I would like to know if including a nude drawing would be advantageous and if it would elevate the quality of my portfolio. Any knowledge you share helps.

Thanks in advance.

Sep 17, 15 3:12 pm
Non Sequitur

Yes, double yes even.

Mcgill, Carleton and Waterloo still have nude life drawing as part of their undergrad programs.

Sep 17, 15 3:18 pm  · 
 · 
Brud-G

All the hot girls of Montreal... there must be something in the water

Sep 17, 15 3:23 pm  · 
 · 
Mr.Splash

Would it be better if I include multiple of them rather than one?

Sep 17, 15 3:28 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

^ depends on the size of the portfolio. If you're limited in page counts, then it's best to have one that takes up the entire page rather than an assortment of small sketches.

If you're applying to a school that requires interviews (in person), then you can bring the originals, which if you're doing it right, should be on 3'x4' sheets of newsprint... or larger.

Sep 17, 15 3:33 pm  · 
 · 
anonitect

Are you enrolled in a class where you're doing life drawing? 

Do you have portraits, still lifes, or landscapes/cityscapes? Use those first. 

Yes, you'll do nude drawings as part of your coursework if you take drawing classes in college, but those are exercises, not artistic statements. I'd avoid using nudes unless they're beyond exceptional.

Do not include drawings from photographs in your portfolio.

Sep 17, 15 3:34 pm  · 
 · 
anonitect

which if you're doing it right, should be on 3'x4' sheets of newsprint... or larger

Bullshit. Don't listen to that guy.

Sep 17, 15 3:36 pm  · 
 ·