Archinect
anchor

M.Arch 2/Or/3yrs. program

ASArchitect

Hi everyone,
As I have a bachelor degree in civil engineering (structure), and I'm planning to pursue study master program in architecture. But I'm not certain which is better from these paths to follow:

1-Should I take a 3 years master program which is specific for applicants, who have a bachelor degree in another disciplines?

Or
2-Have to take a 2 years program, which is basically for students holding a B.Arch/B.Sc. in architecture and sometimes for applicants who have B.Eng (Civil engineering)?

And if 2 what is the best architectural schools in UK or Germany to attend??(if u know)

Any advice and suggestions will be greatly appreciated...

Jun 11, 15 9:50 am
BR.TN

You'll more likely want to do the 3 year program for the sake of developing your design eye, but if you are adamant about trying to get in to the 2 year programs, you'll certainly need a spectaculer portfolio for applying. They'll want to believe that you are up-to-par with the other 2 year program students' design capabilities, and most of them will be coming from 5-year undergrad programs.

I don't know much about UK or DEU Schools, but I'm a fan of Bartlett (UK), AA (UK), Technische Universitat Dresden (DEU)

Question for all: If you have a Bachelor in Environmental Design, or a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the US (4-year degrees, not 5), considering to apply to an M.Arch I vs M.Arch II program, is it wrong to assume that you'll have "less competition" by applying to M.Arch I where many students don't have design backgrounds? And if you DID apply to the M.Arch I, but the admissions board felt you deserved advanced standing into the M.Arch II program, do they consider the transfer automatically rather than denying your application all-together?

Jun 11, 15 10:34 am  · 
 · 
kickrocks