Archinect
anchor

Advice on M.Arch I Decision

Hello everyone,

I'm (urgently) looking for some insight and opinions. It's a long post, so please bear with me. Originally from Canada, I graduated with a Bachelor of Interior Design last year, and over the summer took the Intro to Architecture course at Columbia University. I loved every minute of it. That pushed me into applying to do my Master of Architecture. Soon afterwards, I got notified that 3 out of the 4 schools I applied to, I got rejected. I got wait-listed for the school I wanted most and that's really all I could ask for at that moment.

When I went back to Canada after that summer, I was working in an interior design firm. I loved everything I did in school, but I didn't feel content with what I was doing at work. Some people told me that working-wise, interior design is similar to architecture as in the process it goes through to construct a space/building, but obviously architects get to deal with a bigger scope. At that point, with the rejections and my dissatisfaction with interior design, I felt like I lost some of the passion I had for architecture.

That was when I started to develop an interest in interaction design/web design/ app design, etc.  I was thrilled to get into this field and I could really see myself enjoying it. However, shortly after, I heard back from Columbia University and they were offering me a spot in their M.Arch I program.