Archinect
anchor

SCI-Arc debt?

XP Count

Hi everyone,

I know there's a crap load of posts like these; but I got accepted to SCI-Arc and I'm wondering how much debt people got attending this school. I'm kind of torn because Sci-Arc was my top 1 school to go to, but knowing that each year will cost $50,000 is ridiculous. I'm not surprised if people have made $200,000 in debt!. 

I graduated with an AS in Architecture, and jobs are coming to me left and right; I'm not sure if I should just decline Sci-Arcs acceptance and just apply to Pomona / SLO then go to Sci-Arc for at least the 1 year program. Architecture is something I know I will do throughout my life; I'm not sure if the investment is going to be worth it though, even though I badly want to go to this school. Have anyone went through SCI-Arc and regretted the debt? or vice-versa?

Jun 2, 15 7:02 pm
kickrocks

If you're getting no funding, reject it. If they want you that badly, they'd offer some cash but seeing as you seem to getting zero, take the hint.

Everyone regrets debt unless they have no conception of adulthood post-school or have some rich benefactor paying it. This is not the good kind of debt. Work a few years first, employers clearly want you now. Then consider school when you have a lot more leverage.

Jun 2, 15 7:11 pm  · 
 · 
XP Count

You're right. I still yet to get my award letter since that will really give me the decision whether to go or not. 

I have the option to "hold" my seat for a year, meaning I can come in next year instead; but I still have to pay $500 for that -_-. ($500 acceptance fee to get in). Not sure if I should do that or just decline and reapply later. 

Jun 2, 15 7:20 pm  · 
 · 
Archinect
kickrocks