Archinect
anchor

Am I to old to get a M.Arch degree?

mwpetri

Hi,

I'm 26, turning 27 soon, I have a bachelor degree in fine art, not architecture, and I am currently planning on going to grad school to get my first professional degree in the field. I currently work as an office assistant (mind numbing work) and waitress, so I don't have any awesome pre-graduate school experience. This question is kinda of silly, I guess, since there isn't any sort of age limit on higher education, however I concern is how I will be perceived once I graduate. At that point I will be 30, and the most experience that I anticipate having will be summer internships. 

What sort of positions should I expect to be able to attain?

And will my age work against me; be seen as a negative by employers?  

May 4, 15 5:20 pm
howdidigethere

I'll be 29 when I start this fall. I have worked in another field before this, but I couldn't see myself doing it for the rest of my life and the only way to become an architect is to go back to school (or spend a decade+ working for one in some states). I wish I started younger, but life gets in the way sometimes. 

Frankly, you have nowhere to go but up. If this is what you see yourself doing, go for it now rather than later. You'll be taking a risk no matter what grad degree you choose. The only other option is remaining where you are and it sounds like you don't want to be there. 

May 4, 15 5:47 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

there is so much to learn while practicing that age is not a factor in any way. and many say an architect is only mature professionally after 45.

May 4, 15 6:06 pm  · 
 · 
Beepbeep

You will be on the younger side or about average age in your M.arch class, it tends to be a bit more mature class. Well at least mine was. I started my at 26 or 27 graduated at 30 and still young. The only people younger in the firms will be the people that did the B.arch. No one will listen to you until at least 40 anyway ahaha.

May 4, 15 6:49 pm  · 
 ·