Archinect
anchor

M.arch at [ Ohio st, Cincinnati or SAIC ] ?

roman_architec

Hi I am a graduated student  (will be this may)  from a Bachelors degree in Environmental Design.

I already apply for graduate school i united states, to do the Master degree in architecture.

I apply to 6 schools and this was my result (he order is from my top choice to my least favorite):

-GSD: out

-UCB: out

-UIC: out

-SAIC: in

-Cincinnati: in

-Ohio st: in

As this results go, I was more than disappointed to be rejected from my 3 top choices. However I never hated the other 3, or I wouldn't apply to them.

The bottom line is that:
SAIC: I always liked SAIC because of Chicago. and they ended up giving me a good scholarship for the M.arch 2 (2 years)

Cincinnati: Cincinnati was on my choices because they where top near other Ivy leagues schools and have the co-op program which seems nice. However they put me in M.arch 1, which is 3 year + one more year of co-op = which in total is 4 years (seems too much)

Ohio state: same as Cincinnati, they are solid and well-known program around the country. The problem is that they offer me the M.arch 1 which is  the 3 year placement.

NOW: in terms of money i know I should go to SAIC, since their scholarship makes them cheaper than both Cincinnati and Ohio st. However I feel like the master of architecture in SAIC is not that known since its newer and.. my dilema si if I should make a decision toward the money or thinking about which program will be better for me in terms of: preparing my for the future. I feel that Ohio St. may seems like a "balance" between Cincinnati and SAIC but not in terms of money..What do you guys think?  

You may think the answer is obvious but for every issue I find a different answer:
cheaper: saic
The city: saic since its chicago
top school (well known): both in ohio
More solid programs: both in ohio

what do you think?

Apr 24, 15 8:38 pm
SpatialSojourner