Archinect
anchor

USC MAAS (M.Arch II-Post Professional) vs UPenn-PPD (M.Arch II- Post Professional)..???

rkapoo

Hello

I have been accepted to USC MAAS program with scholarship ($$$$) and UPenn PPD with scholarship ($$). Although Penn is an Ivy and was my dream school, I am somehow inclined towards the USC program because of the full tuition waiver and Los Angeles, while some tell me it makes no sense to decline an IVY. Also, in terms of jobs which could give me a better placement, LA is said to have more jobs. So would it be better to study in LA? Plus I hear both the programs are not very old. I havnt received much of the reviews for the both of them

Being an international student I wont be able to attend either of the open houses, so people here if you could please guide me, need to take a decision this week?

Mar 15, 15 11:18 am
rkapoo

??

Mar 16, 15 3:11 pm  · 
 · 
CrazyHouseCat

As a USC M-Arch graduate, I can tell you that USC has a solid program.  It’s not the most progressive or inventive in the academia realm.  But I think you are asking all the right supplemental question regarding financial viability and career opportunities. 

In terms of career opportunities:  The advantage of a Penn degree over USC is probably more towards starchitect firms.  “Standard” firms sometimes don’t prefer overly theoretical educations in new hires, most of them want to know if you can do bathroom details and use Revit (slight exaggeration, but you get my idea).  A degree from USC says to potential employers that you had a solid education, is creative, but can also work hard and make “real” buildings.  It’s also not a turn-off to starchitect firms.  I have classmates from USC doing extremely well at Morphosis, Gehry, Foster, etc.  And all of my graduating class (from 2008) are gainfully employed.