Archinect
anchor

Downtrodden non-major needing advice for starting out and M.Arch

omyjosh

Hi,

I'm new to the field but have had an unfulfilled interest in architecture for years, and I was wondering how to best move forward. The situation is slightly hopeless seeming, I graduated with a BS in Chemistry last year, but my GPA was a 2.56 because my heart just wasn't in it, but I was stubborn. I have no design experience, I haven't taken an art class since high school, so I can't think of anything relevant for a portfolio, but I really want to work my way into a M.Arch program.

It seems like I'll likely have to independently take an art class, based on other recommendations from the forum, which is totally fine. I've seen a lot of discussion about summer programs, and it seems like I could still get in for Summer '15 if I apply now, but I was concerned that they may just be cash grabs, especially considering how little background I have. 

I've looked for experience, but all firms I've seen want someone with a degree for internships etc. I've seen LAIAD 1 year program mentioned which seemed good, but I'm currently confined to the greater New York region, is there anything similar?

My GPA is terrible, but I am confident of a very high GRE, is it possible to get enough experience to apply this fall to start Masters next year?

Any advice on any of the above would be so appreciated,

Josh

Mar 12, 15 3:56 pm
chicagleggos