Archinect
anchor

YSOA vs. GSAPP

ad2289

Hello everyone, 

I am an International Student from the Dominican Republic and just got accepted to the M.Arch II program at Yale and to the Ms. Advanced Architectural design program at Columbia

I am torn between these two schools and have no idea what decision I will make.

I will be attending both open houses to help me make my mind.

Some of the questions I'm having are:

New York vs. New Haven? 

Better professors at Yale than at Columbia?

Yale more prestigious than Columbia?

1 and a half year program at GSAPP vs 2 years at Yale?

If you have any suggestions, opinions or ideas, if you are a current student or have anything to say please let me know!

Mar 7, 15 12:06 pm
natematt

Apples and oranges.

New York vs. New Haven? One is the biggest city in the country and the center of world commerce with over 8 million people, the other is a college town of 130,000. So pick the one you like.

Better professors at Yale than at Columbia? They are typically more famous, I don't think that necessarily makes them better. Though there are plenty of famous profs at Columbia as well.

Yale more prestigious than Columbia? In general, sure. In architecture, a little. Does that matter? No.

1 and a half year program at GSAPP vs 2 years at Yale? Is the Columbia one accredited? That specific degree doesn't sound like it would be, so that might be the only factor you need to consider if you are looking to get licensed someday.

Mar 7, 15 1:26 pm  · 
 · 
WanderLust