Archinect
anchor

How difficult is it to establish residency in CA?

I am currently a resident of Maryland, and taking two years off after graduating with a BS before going back to grad school in Fall 2016.

My top schools are all in California (specifically Berkeley, big surprise), so I'd love to become a resident before emptying all my savings into a garbage can in a year and a half.

Is there anyone who has had trouble applying for in-state residency at California schools? (Or anyone who had a surprisingly easy time?) I will be able to live in CA for at least a year, so that part shouldn't be a problem.

Thanks!

Mar 1, 15 2:57 pm
natematt

I'm pretty sure you'll have to look at whatever criteria each school has for residency. By the state's standards you could be a resident the day you moved there.

Mar 1, 15 6:01 pm  · 
 · 
TED

Live + work in CA for a year prior to applying so if your starting in Sept, it may mean 18-19 months to make certain no prob - but is it california - it should be enjoyable -

Mar 1, 15 6:45 pm  · 
 · 
video_killed

Hey everyone! I was just admitted to Berkeley OOS and was wondering how easy it would be to apply for residency status starting my second year of M.Arch. 

It seems like it's doable, and the requirements aren't that bad compared to other states (I'm looking at you, Michigan). For people interested in the specific details about requirements, you can find them here: http://www.ucop.edu/general-counsel/guidance/educational-affairs-and-campus-services/10-things-graduate-students-residence-tuition-fees.html

What I would like to know is: does anyone actually have EXPERIENCE trying this as an OOS applicant to a California school for their second year? And were you successful/unsuccessful? I've found a lot of "advice" on these forums and others, mostly from people who actually live in California, but so far haven't heard anything from anyone who's actually been through the process.