Archinect
anchor

Architecture Summer School 2015

codepanda

Hi! I'm currently doing a masters in computer science in France but after traveling around Asia and Europe, I'm seriously considering shifting to architecture. I've been looking at GSD's Career Discovery program, Columbia's Intro to Architecture, and SciArc's Making + Meaning program. My goal is to get a sense of how archi studio works and create a strong portfolio for my M.Arch application next year. To those who have attended one of these programs (or know someone who did), what are your thoughts and impressions in terms of the quality of work done by the students, the lectures, and the overall vibe in the school? Is one better than the other or is it a matter of whether the school's philosophy fits with what I what I want to do after?

Feb 27, 15 12:22 pm
jayve

I did New York/Paris at Columbia about 3 years ago. I think it's a great idea (if you can afford it!) to do one of those programs before making the jump. It allowed me to catch up on studio/design skills and also figure out where my interests lie in the field (which guided which Masters programs I applied to this year.) It will certainly help you create a stronger portfolio - I credit NYP partially to all my admissions success so far. Quality of work varied, and we were sometimes treated as 'lesser-than' grad students in terms of resources and respect, but if you're able to put your ego aside and soak everything up, it will be a great experience for you. As far as I know, all the programs you listed are viewed pretty favorably, and I would also look into Berkeley's summer program. Feel free to send me a private message if you have more questions. 

Feb 27, 15 6:36 pm  · 
 · 
chandni