Archinect
anchor

Architectural Theory

ausin001

I am a graduate student and new to the profession and I am looking for resources (websites, blogs, magazines, etc...) for architectural theory. I am interested in past theory, which is readily available in books, as well as current, which has been a little more difficult to pinpoint a source to read from.

Sep 16, 14 12:57 pm
awaiting_deletion

For Books: get the anthologies by Ockman (1948-68), Hays (1968-91?), Nesbit, and Sykes (1993-2009).........Framptons boom on Modern Architecture...... journals. LOG - that would be more contemporary.....for websites the late Lebbeus Woods blog is worth going through.......the Funambulist........and ARCHINECT - some features and blogs are worth a look...........and of course the forum if you do not mind the occasional troll..........there a few on here that know their stuff.

Sep 16, 14 5:57 pm  · 
 · 
Carrera

Later in my career I followed Walter Netsch’s (SOM) Field Theory and solved all kinds of complex design problems with it, some reading available just Google it.

Sep 16, 14 9:35 pm  · 
 · 
TIQM

Anti-Architecture and Deconstruction,  by Nikos Salingaros 

Sep 17, 14 12:39 am  · 
 · 
toasteroven

I'd only read Salingaros for his stuff on biophilia, algorithmic design, and urban systems - his criticism of modernism and arch education starts veering off into don quixote territory...

big movement right now is "ecological urbanism" - and then we have the ever creeping cynicism of koolhaas's architecture of global capitalism...

Sep 18, 14 10:16 am  · 
 · 
TIQM

Salingaros exploration of biophilia, algorithmic design, and urban systems leads directly to his criticism of modernism...

Sep 18, 14 7:52 pm  · 
 · 
toasteroven