Kennesaw State University

Kennesaw State University

Marietta, GA


SPSU / KSU Consolidation Website now online!

By Ed Akins
Jan 27, '14 9:46 PM EST

JAN. 13, 2014 – Although its work is just beginning, the Expanded Consolidation Implementation Committee (ECIC) of Southern Polytechnic State University and Kennesaw State University already is focusing on the creation of 13 individual colleges that will comprise the academic units of the new university.

The recently expanded 46-member committee – made up of administrators, faculty, staff and students from SPSU and KSU – held its first meeting to begin defining how the new integrated university would be organized. At their initial meeting, the ECIC’s members also discussed the development of vision and mission statements for the consolidated university, and deliberated a proposed academic structure that might consist of 13 colleges, including:
• Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology • College of Architecture and Construction Management
• College of Computing and Software Engineering 
• Leland and Clarice C. Bagwell College of Education, 
• Michael J. Coles College of Business 
• WellStar College of Health and Human Services 
• College of the Arts 
• College of Continuing and Professional Education 
• College of Humanities and Social Sciences 
• College of Science and Mathematics 
• Graduate College 
• Honors College 
• University College

“The committee had an excellent discussion of the direction we might take with academic colleges,” said Kennesaw State University President Daniel S. Papp. “We are definitely mindful of SPSU’s history and outstanding reputation, which will contribute to enhancing the new university’s prestige as a nationally recognized institution. Naming one of the colleges the ‘Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology’ is an excellent way to carry the rich tradition and heritage of SPSU forward.”

Southern Polytechnic President Lisa Rossbacher concurred, noting that the preliminary draft proposal of a college structure for the consolidated university included four named colleges and the prospect of nine additional naming opportunities. “The Expanded CIC is off to a good start,” Rossbacher observed, “and I expect that we will move forward rapidly with both the structure and vision and mission statements for the consolidated university.”

The planners will continue to meet in coming weeks to shape their proposal. Once the vision and mission statements and the organizational structure for the consolidated university are agreed upon by the ECIC, Papp and Rossbacher will forward the proposal to University System of Georgia Chancellor Hank Huckaby. The vision and mission statement will then be presented to the Board of Regents for its consideration. The Chancellor will review the new organizational structure.

For more information regarding the consolidation process and timeline, please visit: