Archinect
anchor

MLA Decision-Making?

ccv7

Hello all!

New poster, long-time reader. I applied for MLA programs for this coming fall, and am trying to figure out how to actually make my decision.

I applied to:
-GSD (haven't heard)
-UW (haven't heard)
-RISD (haven't heard)
-Berkeley (haven't heard)
-UT Austin (accepted)
-U Mich (accepted)
-UBC (accepted)

My undergraduate degree is in Environmental Science, so I'm leaning towards a more design-focused grad program (to balance out my knowledge/experience). I have little drawing experience, and a fair amount of software experience (Adobe CS, GIS) and consider myself a pretty fast learner when it comes to computers. That makes me think that a program with a good drawing education might give me the most bang for my buck (though I realize most people seem to say the field is headed in a computer-centric direction).

I've lived in the SF Bay Area my whole life, so I'm tempted to avoid Berkeley and try somewhere else for a while. Both the UT and UW programs appeal to me (emphasis on sustainability, interesting class topics, possibility of international experiences with UW), but I've also been told by some landscape architect co-wokers (I work for a big architecture firm) that the Harvard name means a ton.

I'm totally undecided on my opinion of Harvard, but am a bit put-off by the we-will-break-you vibe I sometimes get from their materials/people's description of the program.

Of course I'm still waiting to hear from more than half the schools, so I may be getting ahead of myself, but I have to decide by April 15, so I want to get a jump on all this.

Wow, long post! Anyway, thank you so much for your time/insights!

Mar 9, 09 6:17 pm
drums please, Fab?

UT Austin fo' shizzle!

i have only heard good things about austin plus the locals get mad when people move in ..

Mar 9, 09 6:58 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller