Archinect
anchor

Career advice needed

I am an aspiring student inclined to interior designing. I switched from finance background to interior design to pursue my passion. I am  already enrolled in an institute where I learned about the software portion of the designing using Auto-cad to floor plan and Sketchup to elaborate the design. Recently, I found about an diploma course intended for online from Interior Design Institute (IDI). As I hope to move in Canada next year, I thought it would be a good shot but I am in a dilemma. Since I want to learn about the more in depth about interior design, I need to focus on specific portion to forward my path. Will this Diploma from Interior Design Institute be helpful for me to enlarge my views and scope for the future opportunity or do I need alternative source to engage on? If I really need alternative way which sources can suffice my objective to be an independent interior designer? 

Thanks in advance.

May 30, 22 12:02 pm
Non Sequitur

int des is still mostly a college-level degree in canada (with some exceptions).  NCIDQ should be your main resource for diploma/course applicability but a quick glance at IDI tells me this is for the weekend-warrior decorator crowd than fresh students.

https://www.cidq.org/

May 30, 22 12:30 pm  · 
 · 
robhaw

Hello Non, I hope all is well. I would kindly like to ask if you could please provide some insight into my thread 'internship at an envelope contractor'. It would be much appreciated.

May 30, 22 3:33 pm  · 
 · 

My dear Non.

May 31, 22 5:31 am  · 
1  · 

My dear Non ,Thank you for your valuable reply. As I am from a Finance background and want to switch this to Interior design, I am a little ambiguous about what I should do next for my approach. In Canada, which university will be better for myself to start on regarding my age?

May 31, 22 9:45 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur