Archinect
anchor

Rhino Workflow Advice PLEASE

starkkitect

I've always had this problem with my 3d modeling workflow and I'm in dire need of advice to save time, work and headaches..

I started learning 3d modeling with sketchup and later learned rhino. I'm more comfortable with the 'sketch' like interface of sketchup where you intuitively just draw lines on a surface to spontaneously divide a surface into two then push/pull the divided surface etc. So I always end up doing most of my modeling on sketchup. More comfortable and flexible.

Then I export my sketchup to rhino for grasshopper work/rhino plugin work/rendering etc. Usually at this stage most of the 3d modeling is already done including slabs, walls, pillars, windows etc. This is where the headaches start.

I import the sketchup model as trimmed planes since I figured they would be easier to convert into closed polysurfaces. (Don't even get me started on how frustrated I get when I can't convert some parts as closed polysurfaces due to 0.01mm wide openings in my sketchup model) I want them as polysurfaces because I want to be able to edit my model within rhino as I make finishing touches and correct errors.

However the size of the model becomes enormous (like at least 1.5gb when it's just a B.Arch 3rd year architecture project) making it really slow. Some parts of the model end up being open polysurfaces which really makes me want to punch the monitor since I can't edit those shapes.

1. When do you convert your model from polysurfaces to meshes? I discovered that converting to meshes really decreases the model file size but doesn't allow me to make any changes to the model (besides materials?) Would it be wise to convert them just before I start doing vray work? What if I needed to make changes to the model after I converted them to meshes?

2. Should I import my sketchup models as meshes in the first place instead of trimmed planes? Can I still edit the shapes of my model even so?