University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Milwaukee, WI


MOS Architects: 2015 Fitzhugh Scott Chairs in Design Excellence

By snatraj
Feb 23, '15 8:52 PM EST
Photo by Michael Vahrenwald
Photo by Michael Vahrenwald

Michael Meredith and Hilary Sample, principals of MOS Architects [], are this year’s Fitzhugh Scott Chairs in Design Excellence, and will visit the UW Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning during the course of the Spring semester in their role as MASTERcritics.

The School’s inaugural MASTERcrit will be conducted from March 14-22nd, when twelve of the best seniors and graduate students nominated by the faculty will be given the opportunity to work on a project conceived in partnership with Meredith and Sample. The final presentation will be held on March 26th at the School. The MASTERcrit will be coordinated by Assistant Prof. Jasmine Benyamin.

Along with Hilary Sample, Michael Meredith is a principal of MOS, an internationally recognized architecture practice based in New York. His writing has appeared in Artforum, LOG, Perspecta, Praxis, Domus, and Harvard Design Magazine. Meredith previously taught at Harvard University's Graduate School of Design, the University of Michigan, where he was awarded the Muschenheim Fellowship, and the University of Toronto. Meredith holds an M.Arch from Harvard University and a
B.Arch. from Syracuse University.

Along with her partner Michael Meredith, Hilary Sample is a principal of MOS, an internationally recognized architecture practice based in New York. Prior to her post at Columbia, she taught at Yale University, the University of Toronto, and held the Reyner Banham Teaching Chair at SUNY Buffalo. She has received Graham Foundation grants, and a visiting scholar at the CCA in Montreal, and currently serves as a board member of the MacDowell colony. Sample holds an M.Arch from Princeton University, and a B.Arch. from Syracuse University.


About the Fitzhugh Scott Chair: In 1997, the Uihlein family generously provided funding to establish the Fitzhugh Scott Chair in Design Excellence at SARUP, in honor of one of Wisconsin’s great architects. The position provides an opportunity to attract the finest architects to share their experience and vision with Wisconsin students, with strong and stimulating educational experiences, creating an expanded dialogue with the profession and public by addressing issues pertinent to the field and the profession.

Over the course of the past 18 years, the School has worked with students to focus on applied research related to contemporary architectural practice, with studios that have resulted in built structures, and that have knit together the application of social research with the commitment to design excellence. Previous Chairs have been Steve Badanes, Neil Frankel, and Will Bruder.