University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Milwaukee, WI


Johnsen Schmaling appointed UWMilwaukee's Fitzhugh Scott Chairs in Design Excellence

By snatraj
Mar 10, '16 10:42 AM EST

Brian Johnsen and Sebastian Schmaling are the latest Fitzhugh Scott Chairs in Design Excellence at the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning.

They will conduct a studio in the Fall of 2016. Both are founding partners of Johnsen Schmaling Architects (, a design and research studio whose work has garnered critical acclaim for its conceptual clarity, formal discipline, astute detailing, and an unequivocal commitment to architectural innovation and environmental sustainability.

This is just the latest in a long list of achievements by Johnsen Schmaling, which, in 2008, was the first Wisconsin-based architect to receive the “Emerging Voices”  award by the Architectural League of New York. The firm has won more than 80 professional design awards and competitions, among them 18 from the National AIA, and has received more AIA awards in Wisconsin than any other practice in the state over the last 12 years. it’s work has been featured by Architectural Record in its Design Vanguard issue as “one the world’s most innovative studios”, named one of ten “Rising Stars in American Architecture” by Architectural Digest, and won “Top Firm” award by Residential Architect. Its projects have been published in over 110 different periodicals in more than 30 countries, including Architecture, Architectural Review, Metropolis, Domus, Architectural Record, Dwell, Azure, Harvard Design Magazine, Bauwelt, and Detail, as well as in papers like the The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Washington Post, and The Chicago Tribune.  More than 50 architecture anthologies and text books published by Rizzoli, Princeton Architectural Press, Wiley, Lawrence King, Braun, and Taschen, among many others, have featured its work, which has been exhibited in galleries and museums in the United States and abroad.

Regularly invited as jurors and speakers at architecture schools around the country, including Harvard, MIT, Parsons and IIT, Brian Johnsen and Sebastian Schmaling have held teaching positions as Bruce Goff Chair at the University of Oklahoma, Visiting Professor at University of Toronto, and as CriticalMASS Visiting Critic at the University of North Carolina.

Currently, Johnsen Schmaling is a finalist for the WWI Memorial in D.C. International Design Competition.

About the Fitzhugh Scott Chair in Design Excellence:

In 1997, the David and Julia Uihlein Charitable Foundation generously provided funding to establish the Fitzhugh Scott Chair in Design Excellence at the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning, in honor of one of Wisconsin’s great architects.

The position provides an opportunity to attract the finest architects to share their experience and vision with Wisconsin students, providing them with strong and stimulating educational experiences, while creating an expanded dialogue with the profession and public by addressing issues pertinent to the field and the profession.

Previous Chairs have been Steve Badanes (Jersey Devil), Neil Frankel (Frankel+Coleman) and Will Bruder (Will Bruder Architects).