Archinect
anchor

Working full-time through A-School.

charlatan

I'm currently 25, with a partially finished degree in studio art, which means that my credits won't really transfer anywhere. I have wanted to become an architect for a long time, but various things have stood in the way of my going back to school. At this point in my life, going back to school full-time is not really an option financially, so I am wondering about the feasibility of working and going to A-School. I currently work as a truss designer in Colorado, so am looking at the UC-Boulder B.Envd specifically. Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Apr 12, 07 12:19 pm
Chili Davis

I work 40 hours a week. I took my gen. eds. at community college, and got an associate degree in architectural technology while I was there. That took me 3 years. In December, I will graduate with my bachelor of science in architecture. That took an additional 4 1/2 years. I shifted between full time and part time course loads, depending on how classes fit in with my work schedule. This semester, I'm full time, and work is busy too, so it's a little nuts, but it will all be worth it. I think you'll find most courses are offered at night. I have an 8 am class twice a week, so I come in to work late on those days. When the office is slow, I pull out the books and do homework.

Apr 12, 07 12:25 pm  · 
 · 
difficultfix

Just Liki Chili...said its possible

I work 25- to 30 hrs a week / and the rest of the time in school

Schedule

work Class unoffical class time

mon 8:30-3pm 5pm-9pm 9-11

tues 8:30-2pm 3pm-9pm 9-11

weds 8:30-3pm 5pm9-pm 9-11

thurs 8:30-5pm no class 6pm-9pm

fri 8:30-12:30 2pm-6pm 6-9pm

Hours spent in unoffical class time varies....
usually allniters during presentations, midterms, and finals..

that what my schedule looks like pretty much...at least for this spring qtr

Apr 12, 07 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

tumbleweed,

you can be my part time lover

Apr 12, 07 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
charlatan