Archinect
anchor

Do years of experience count if they were abroad?

finngrayson

Hi all!

I am an architect from Latin America living in the U.S. I have roughly 8 years of architecture experience in Latin America and I am curious whether the typical U.S. architecture firm values this experience and whether it would “count” toward the required years of experience for particular jobs. While I feel my experience is relevant, I recognize that my background doesn’t offer a lot of U.S. nuance (e.g., U.S. building code). How much does the country in which I’ve worked as an architect matter to architecture firms looking for job candidates?

Appreciate the feedback! Thanks.

May 8, 24 2:30 pm
JLC-1

What counts is what you know and if that matches what they're searching for, I came to the US with 12 years of mixed experience in South America (5 years of university physical plant and 7 years of new community design), and after the 2008 crisis I had to pivot from Urban Design to Single family residential, luckily I had a lot of experience in construction as well. Codes are easy to grasp and in many cases you will not have to deal with code reviews. What was harder for me was the switch from metric to imperial.

PS. Research about getting licensed, it's a big plus.

May 8, 24 2:42 pm  · 
1  · 
archanonymous

Your average clueless HR person is probably going to discount it by a few years. Like if you have 8 you get credit for 5. Obviously it's not so formulaic but in my opinion that's how it is perceived. 

Also depends a bit on location... Experience in Chile, Costa Rica, or Mexico is going to be worth a lot more than Venezuela or Colombia just due to cultural similarities and quality of design and construction. 

And it's not just perception either, quality experience in a more similar country will leave you with more knowledge which is what they should be hiring for anyways. 

May 8, 24 2:43 pm  · 
1  ·