Archinect
anchor

Berkeley MArch without funding?

zomzomzom

Hey all— 

I applied to five MArch programs this year and was somehow only accepted into my first choice, UC Berkeley. I’m excited (and confused, considering even my state school that I graduated with honors from rejected me immediately,) but I didn’t receive any funding from the school and am wondering how realistic it will be to secure a TA/GSI position later in the program. I’m applying for private scholarships and waiting to hear back about FASFA, but am starting to wonder how financially realistic this program will be for me, if I should instead delay a year and hope for better funding outcomes from a wider variety of schools, etc.

I’m low income and none of my family have gone to grad school, and I’m starting to realize it’s not as financially straightforward as I thought it would be. Any tips/advice is greatly appreciated. 

May 3, 24 11:43 am
Non Sequitur

What's the tuition + cost of living going to be?

Remember, paying 50-100k for an arch degree is not an investment.  Pay as little as possible so that you're not handicapped by 15+ years of soul crushing debt just for a glorified general art degree from a big-name place.  No one will care.

Nothing wrong with waiting another year and apply elsewhere hoping for a cheaper option.  Let the clueless fools pay full price. 

May 3, 24 12:07 pm  · 
1  · 

Adding to this - take a look at what the average starting pay is in the area(s) you want to work in. The national average for a first year architectural graduate is $43k but can vary depending on you location. Keep that in mind when taking on student loan debt.

May 3, 24 12:30 pm  · 
 · 
graphemic