Archinect
anchor

Fees

gruen
So, as some of you know, I'm in my first year of starting my firm. It's just me. I'm getting a ton of phone calls, and am getting a steady stream of work. Most of it is residential, and most if it is really budget work.

My goal for the next year is to move onto larger projects, or at least better billings. Right now I feel lucky if I can bill 3% of construction. Had 2 potential clients inform me today that I was too expensive, the prices they suggested were laughably small.

How did you make this move, or how do you explain value?

Apr 24, 14 6:13 pm
chigurh

That is tough.

Right off the bat, you just have to tell them what design is worth and the time involved.

Laymen see a sketch-up model in schematics and assume that you are finished with design.  

You should break out a huge set of residential CD's and show the clients; this is what it takes to build a house.  Then inform them, they can hire a draftsman from craigslist to do a design, but the personal headache to the owners and the amount of change orders involved in in the project would far outweigh any fee that you throw at the project to do it the right way.  

In the end, they end up paying for it, either in professional fees or in the stress and money involved in a total cluster fuck.  

Apr 24, 14 8:06 pm  · 
 · 
Token AE

Don't forget the value of having someone that knows what they are doing in the CA phase.

Apr 24, 14 8:22 pm  · 
 · 
proto

my suggestion: bill hourly (but it will be your responsibility to set expectations of general professional fee totals). don't tie yourself to percentage of construction

or

maybe propose hourly thru SD and then do a not-to-exceed for the remainder with a caveat about changes in scope?

write up a critical path of tasks involved and apply hours:

client meeting & phone calls

zoning research - mtg w/ planners, specific overlay issues, design review

code research - energy? life safety?

design time