Archinect
anchor

Intern income

ArchiObli

Given that I am registered as an architect since February I feel I can share my intern income level. I am curious if anyone else shares similar experience.

I've been an intern since 98 and have earned a salary of over $100k for the last two years. Last year I earned $112k working 37.5 hr weeks (no overtime) and lots of vacation. Granted this is in Canadian dollars but really it's close enough to USD for comparison.

I ask because I have classmates who went to the US thinking they will earn more

Mar 27, 14 9:56 am
Roshi

Are you guys hiring?

Mar 27, 14 11:20 am  · 
 · 
won and done williams

Come to America where we have money dripping off the trees.

Mar 27, 14 11:21 am  · 
 · 
grneggandsam

Wow, that's quite the intern income.  I make 40k a year, pay $1000 a month for rent.  Living expenses are about $2000 baseline a month, with my $2400 a month paychecks.  I feel like I'm about as financially secure/well off as when I was in college working at a sandwitch shop.

Mar 27, 14 11:29 am  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

grned - do you live in a super high tax area?

Mar 27, 14 12:28 pm  · 
 · 
dionysus

woah.  i need some of that kinda internship.  what kinda firm is that???

// im like 70% thinking trolling...lol

Mar 27, 14 2:16 pm  · 
 · 
natematt
Guys. He has been in arch for 15 years. 100k isn't that crazy for someone with that much experience, even if they are not licensed.
Mar 27, 14 3:33 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

hi everybody, I make 300k per year, full benefits, company car, prostitutes, and coke...I am thinking about finding a job in the states, all jobs down there have the same perks right?

Mar 27, 14 5:15 pm  · 
 · 
spqr

@grneggandsam 

#nyc #internlife

Mar 27, 14 5:36 pm  · 
 · 
stone

An "intern" in name only.

Not very impressed that it took 15+ years to achieve licensure.

Mar 27, 14 5:45 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur