Archinect
anchor

Cornell or Calpoly B.Arch

arjunhunt

I have been accepted by both Cornell and Calpoly for the B. Arch program. Both are excellent programs and I am at a loss which to pick. Any suggestions? 

Mar 20, 14 5:48 am
Joy1212

Is it Cal Poly San Luis Obispo or Cal Poly Pomona?

Mar 20, 14 11:47 am  · 
 · 
juxian

Where do you live?

Mar 20, 14 2:44 pm  · 
 · 
arjunhunt

It Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. I am an international student. Cornell have given me a grant and scholarship so the tuition for both are about the same so that is ok.

Mar 21, 14 12:14 pm  · 
 · 
brunchEGGS

If they are both B.Arch programs and about the same price, then of course Cornell. It's an ivy and it'll be able to get a lot of connections. 

Mar 21, 14 1:18 pm  · 
 · 
brunchEGGS

you'll*

Mar 21, 14 1:55 pm  · 
 · 
juxian

If you are international, go to an Ivy for the prestige. :)

Mar 21, 14 1:59 pm  · 
 · 
archrab77

cornell

Mar 22, 14 1:02 am  · 
 · 
TIQM

If you want to be a good architect, go for Cal Poly SLO.

Mar 22, 14 12:54 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Lolol

Nov 30, 17 9:08 pm  · 
 · 
Joy1212

I have heard Cornell is a good school but I am not sure what their program consists of.

I graduated from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo with the B. Arch program in 2008 (I went right after high school in 2003). This is my experience and hopefully it will give you an idea of what to expect. Please check with the Course Catalog/ the Arch Department to see if the classes are the same.

The Program:

1st Year:

-Design Studio 3 times a week for 4 hours

-intro to materials of construction and intro to architecture courses

- you will be building and learning how to use carpentry, stone, welding tools to design a piece of furniture

- Start taking architecture History

2nd Year:

- Design Studio 3 times a week for 4 hours

- start structural courses (3 or 4 total)

- finish architecture history (3 courses total)

3rd Year:

-Design Studio 3 times a week for 4 hours

- finish structural courses