Archinect
anchor

Help! Switching to Construction Management

Anob

Good afternoon everyone,

Need some advice! I've been working in a architecture environment for 2 yrs and for many reason Ive grown to hate the design orientation of construction and producing design development &  construction documents. While in school I worked for a subcontractor and I now realize that I loved it and my personality was meant to work in the construction management field. I've been applying to many positions and lucky enough i have landed interviews but I have gotten the same negative feedback that i do not have enough project management experience, excel experience, timberline experience, primavera experience etc…….. I've even got a response telling me I have too much AutoCAD and Revit experience (Intern Architects would love this problem).

Basically I want to become a Construction Project Manager without going back to school for Civil Engineering or for a Bachelors in Construction Management. I also want to obtain IDP credits into construction management. Still want to become a license architect. Any advice?

Feb 13, 14 1:34 pm
Nice

I recently made the same switch to CM/GC. The advice I would give you is do anything that you can to play up any experience you have on a site, such as punchlist work, site visits, etc. I also framed houses during my summers in college which helped me some, but basically emphasize any ways in which your arch experience will help you learn quickly. I also bought some basic books on construction management and read them which were helpful. I would also put some time in learning at least Excel and Microsoft Project.