Archinect
anchor

Form-Finding/Inflatable/Fabric Architecture Software

whitekeysblackstrings

Does anyone know a software that I can use to analyse form-finding?

I know that it's possible to experiment inflatables with the Grasshopper plugin found in Rhinoceros but I can't seem to load it. A dialogue box saying that my Rhino Installer Engine isn't compatible with the plugin always appears and I'm starting to give up on finding a way to make it work.

I'm a student so if the software is free or if there's a student version of it, it would be even better.

I have a deadline soon so a quick response would be very very much appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to read this! :)

Jan 14, 14 12:03 pm
bowling_ball

Step 1: Get a balloon.

Step 2: Fill balloon with something - preferably air, or water, or sand, etc.

Step 3: Squeeze balloon into desired form.

Step 4: Record findings.

And yes, I'm serious.

Jan 14, 14 12:22 pm  · 
 · 

GOOGLE is broken? Or you just don't know how to use it?

I have a deadline soon

Was that quick enough for you?

Reason #699 to prohibit members with less than 10 posts from starting a new thread. And yet another reason to post some stickies.

Jan 14, 14 12:51 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

what does analyze form finding even mean?  do you really want to create some shitty bubble shape then pretend you can fit some sort of rational program inside?

be more creative.  get a camera.  screw with a balloon like bowling ball suggested, then just take a picture and say it's a form.  go on a bender until you throw up a bunch, then take close up pictures and call it form generating.  blow a bunch of bubbles, take pictures of the bubbles, then call it form generating.

arbitrary is arbitrary whether you have software or parameters or not.  it's also a pretty dumb way to start the design of a building, but i suppose that's up for interpretation.

Jan 14, 14 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
whitekeysblackstrings