Archinect
anchor

Desperately seeking professional advice on the field of Architecture and Civil Engineering

Drichy

I'm currently a fresh graduate from an arts school in Singapore in interior design and I wish to further my studies at either one of the mentioned courses. But my question is wouldn't studying a major in Civil engineering make more sense as i'm actually lacking the knowledge of constructing such structures. I have a strong sense of space and i have strong background in visualizing and conceptualizing architectural forms

Jan 9, 14 12:31 am
DeTwan

Yes, do civil engineering. There are far too may architects and want-to-be architects on this planet for the jobs available.... enough to last through the apocalypse.

Jan 9, 14 12:57 am  · 
 · 
calculator

Civil Engineering is very, very, very different from architecture.  

In school architecture is very art-centric.  You're judged hard on the ideas in your design, your ability to execute drawings and models, etc.  When you graduate, depending on where you go, might be doing design work for buildings, you might be picking carpets and material finishes, you might be doing a lot of things related to architecture.  If you work at the right firm you might find yourself being the guy who combines the work from the design portion and all the various consultants to make sure it all meshes together (the ducts don't hit the beams and you still have room for the pot lights, etc).