Archinect
anchor

Archinect needs to ban Unpaid Interships Postings.

MountainBoy

http://archinect.com/jobs/entry/78360279/architectural-internship-for-student-or-recent-graduate

As a recent graduate, I am insulted that when it is already hard enough and extremely competitive to land a job you have a**sholes like this (who are clearly not the struggling artist variety of architect) offering unpaid internships. They are asking people who clearly have a certain skill set to work for free and are bold enough to call it training. Firms such as this are degrading our professions' worth from within. 

I believe that archinect should take a stand and ban this type of solicitation.  

Oct 7, 13 3:07 pm
curtkram

i believe the person who posted that ad created their own wikipedia page

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anna_Klingmann

wikipedia says she worked for both zaha and rem.  is that even possible?  i suppose that's where she got the clever idea of not paying staff?

somewhat fascinating really.  i can't tell if it's only her, or if she actually has a regular staff.  there are some pictures of people, but then it's not that hard to take pictures of people.  she also has 3 offices/3 addresses (2 fairly close to each other in new york, and one in germany that doesn't have a phone number).  just seems to be a lot of self-promotion in a way that maybe doesn't quite add up in a world of skepticism and internet fishing schemes and such.

Oct 7, 13 3:26 pm  · 
 · 
3tk

Seems like a high-turnover office considering the number of postings in the last year?

Oct 7, 13 3:33 pm  · 
 · 

^ Unpaid interns don't last long. LOL

Archinect sells advertising. If you don't like what they are selling you can always boycott the product.

On the other hand there may be some people who would be happy to provide some free labor in exchange for a good screwing.

Oct 7, 13 4:23 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton