Archinect
anchor

Rant: 25 resume submissions so far> 1 interview

cipyboy

Currently applying at DC and NY firms. 7-10 yrs range of international work , it doesnt help that i have zero local experience. I customize my resume, submit to 2-3 companies/day located across the U.S. Got a panel interview and almost got hired, but HR told me they really want me but can't offer because she said projects are dwindling this time of the year (4th qtr), so they don't know what to do with me.I'm  Back on the drafting board.

my main sources: indeed.com, archinect and linkedin

Job application is such a thankless endeavor, each day it takes a toll out of yer confidence and enthusiasm; there were moments of depression.

Share your experiences! :)

Anyone from DC who could help me out. Tnx

Sep 27, 13 1:09 am
Sergo Antadze

it looks you are doing well if you have 1 interview in 25 applications. you should of tried between 2008-2012 when you may be sending 25 applications a day and no response at all for 4 years.

Sep 27, 13 5:13 am  · 
 · 
Quentin

Welcome to the jungle!

I use to live in the DC area, if you could get a sweet gov or gov contracting job you'll have it made. I had an interview or two but couldn't break in (Pentagon and Dep of State) however you have more experience so good luck.

Sep 27, 13 9:07 am  · 
 · 
Benjamin_

I am going to echo Tiko-G's point. 1 interview for 25 applications is pretty good. A few years back, I sent out hundreds of resumes all over Canada and the US with only a few interviews, granted I didn't have 7-10yrs experience. Keep your chin up -  there is work out there, you just have to keep applying and be patient.

In your downtime, I would recommend that you get yourself involved in local organizations or your local AIA chapter and start networking. Doors will open up eventually.

Sep 27, 13 9:28 am  · 
 · 
jyosiv