Archinect
anchor

When to jump back to school-mode and get your M.Arch?

cooldude1988

So I graduated in 2012 and it took me a year to find a good job in a small design firm.

Now, I feel that I need to work 2 or 3 years before going back to school to get my M.Arch and be a valuable member to my firm (and my bosses know that i'm planning for school). Now i'm really concerned about coming back to school after a long hiatus...include the year of job searching it would mean 3-4 years away from school.

Some people say that those students that took a long break tend to be rusty in the software capabilities?

I was lagging in terms of the software skills I had in Uni (sucked at grasshopper, rhino, rendering machines like 3dsmax and vray - just knew basics). I did fall behind in my undergrad and flunked one studio...my gpa at the end was 3.45 (and I'm looking for grad schools and don't mind not getting advanced standing)

Is this a mid-twenties life crisis? Can other students testify if this generalization of the older masters students are a bit slow on the software is true or not? If so, how did they keep up?

Regards,

The Underdog Architecture Student. (my blog)

Aug 22, 13 11:08 pm
BabbleBeautiful

With what degree did you graduate with in 2012?

Aug 23, 13 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

You're only rusty if you neglect to learn new software or keep up your current abilities. After 2 to 3 years of continuous employment you may have more practical knowledge than your professors...scary right?

This can be a significant advantage in certain studios. You may also find yourself "grounded" to realistic construction techniques which may or may not go over well in studios where gravity is not a design constraint.

In my grad program there were older students that were completely up-to-date with the latest software and had very nice renderings. It's all up to you. Button-pushing classes will not improve your software skills, experimentation is the only way.