Archinect
anchor

Ways to get work permit in US

Hello,

I'm an architect and have specialized in Landscape architecture. I was working with AECOM in India before moving to the US. I'm h4 visa (husband has h1-b). Even though AECOM US wants to hire me, the h1-b visa for the year are exhausted. Now I'm not sure if I should even wait to get h1-b for next April, because even if AECOM agrees to file for h1-b in April, I won't be able to work until next October (more than an year from now). 

I want to know what other options can I look for.

- I learnt that NGOs are exempted from the yearly h1-b quota. Could someone please recommend me few architecture NGOs in NY area?

- I already have a masters from AA School of Architecture, London. So don't think I really need another masters degree. But is it recommended to switch to F1 visa for another masters, just to make sure to h1-b next year? If so, could someone recommend few not-so-expensive universities (preferably in NY area).

- I also thought about working voluntarily on architecture projects. I can utilize my skills and work sitting at home. Are there any websites that post small architecture projects? That would keep me learning in my field and keep me busy!

Any advise will be much appreciated
Thank You
Ankita

Jul 27, 13 10:14 am
gruen
Go ahead and file for the h1b at least you'll have it eventually. In the meantime your other ideas are good . Unfortunately I don't have any NGOs for you.

Perhaps get the f1 and study something other than arch-cheaper? Or take some post professional classes to improve your skill set.
Jul 27, 13 2:44 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Id recommend some post-professional courses, or even volunteering at community centers and applying your experience. In addition to being good on the resume, they will give you a more well-rounded experience and feel for the city. I dont think there are any architectural non-profits who will file a H1 visa for you as most of them are stretched thin anyways...