Archinect
anchor

Troubled Intern Architect

slyguy0

Hello everybody,

My name is Allan. I'm currently an intern architect  with a only a few months of experience logged. I have a question for the audience that I'm sure gets asked quite a bit, but I am in need of professional opinions here.

I am currently in graduate school for a certificate in sustainable design to add to my bachelors in architecture. I'm pursuing this because I am both intrigued and fascinated with the natural environment and design. At the present moment I am working in a small five person firm where I see no enthusiasm towards architecture at all. A negative work environment if you ask me. I am finding myself less interested in architecture and more intrigued by the environment from both a planning and design aspect. With my limited experience I don't know what I should be looking for in terms of career opportunities.

My problem/question is this: I am in a state of feeling that I am lost, I have few network contacts and a mentor, but they don't regard nature in the same light as I do. Usually they tell me its crap, lol. Anyway, I need feedback or advice if you will lend it. Not sure whether I stay the course or abandon ship. Unfortunately I don't know where else to look except architecture. Nature and design are my two favorite areas. Not sure whether or not it's the firm or just architecture, but it seems I'm not interested in the field of architecture.

So where else does a guy with a B. Arch. and a heavy interest in nature go? Anyone have similar stories to share?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate it.

Apr 29, 13 10:39 am
curtkram

here are my initial thoughts that might lead you towards something more fulfilling:

http://www.nps.gov/index.htm

http://www.fs.fed.us/

http://www.usace.army.mil/

Apr 29, 13 10:49 am  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)

@Allan Sylvester