Archinect
anchor

Master of Architecture 1 Program-- Boston Architectural College/Parsons/Pratt

Rafael_Berges

Hello all, 

I plan on attending an M.Arch program and I want some advice on what to do and mostly what is actually possible for someone in my position. I graduated with a Bachelor's of Art from SUNY Albany with a 2.2 overall GPA. I was a poor student when it came to my non-art classes, but I got a 3.6 Major GPA. I regret this deeply and I don't make excuses. I recently did a semester at the Boston Architectural College and got decent grades there but dropped out after one semester because I wanted to try and apply to a 3 year program. I wasn't impressed with the facilities and the concurrent program they offer at the BAC. Quite honestly the school seemed like a scam designed to take poor students' money. 

My question is it possible for someone with such low undergrad grades to get into a 3 year program like Parsons or Pratt? Or should I just go back to the BAC and try for the best? 

Mar 21, 13 11:04 am
_oni

Hi Rafael, a lot of people informed me that applying to a new york school like parsons was a waste of time, especially living in Houston.  Though I double majored in the sciences and minored in Studio art, I had fairly decent grades  but made up for it with "proactive" experience in college and professional settings:

-initiating an awesome student development organization chapter on campus
-Worked in a nonprofit Museum
-Short term teaching experiences in the sciences and the arts