Archinect
anchor

Technical Question - High Water at Basement

hyperfunkulus

I am a licensed architect with a completed project near Orlando, FL which includes a 9'-0" deep basement/pit for a lube center.  The floor and walls of the pit are all CIP concrete.  The pit is dry, water-proofed inside and out, has gravel around the walls and under the slab, filter barriers and a continuous french drain around the perimeter with a separate, detached sump pit that houses two pumps (primary and back up).  Grade around the building is mostly paved and sloped away from the building.  

Since the project's completion about a year ago, the pumps have run continuously, pulling water from around the pit and dumping it into a retention pond which is at a lower elevation and about 100'-0" away.

While there is no evidence of a problem with the project, I am concerned that failure of a pump or some other unpredictable condition might lead to a major problem.  

I'm looking here for some solid technical advice on recommendations I might make to the owner as protection against this type of thing.  I welcome your advice and/or questions.

Nov 21, 12 3:51 pm
usernametaken

first: how thick is the concrete (floor as well as walls?) that's a critical point. As a rule of thumb (depending on the quality of concrete) about a foot of concrete should be enough to withstand the pressure of the water, and avoid any leakage. 

If that isn't the case, or if the execution of the concrete pours wasn't quite perfect (and thus the basement being porous), you could inject the weak spots (as is done in the construction of swimming pools), or attach a watersealant to the concrete. Preferably the outside of the walls, of course - even though that might be a bit of a problem in a built project. If that's the case, you could opt for a double walled (pit in pit) construction. But first things first: how thick is the concrete?

Nov 21, 12 4:20 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams