Archinect
anchor

If something is stated in the code, why do i need to show it on the drawings?

I am studying for my exams right now and I'm just trying to understand the theory behind this.

Let's say the code clearly describes flashing requirements, and the CD's have a note stating to build per the building code, why illustrate this information in the drawings?

Thanks

Sep 5, 12 1:31 pm

if you don't show your intention behind how you expect a detail to work out, how will the contractor know what you want? do you really want to leave it to the discretion of the low-bidder's installer?

the code is the lowest common denominator requirement. you're there to DESIGN a resolution that serves your client's interest and, hopefully, makes the project better than a lowest common denominator result. 

there are a myriad ways to resolve the various conditions encountered in a construction project. you want to show the preferred way; in fact, you want to require that it be done in the best way your client can afford. 

if it were all just a matching of code to application, why would builders need us at all? 

Sep 5, 12 2:52 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

To add to what Steven says, the drawings can act as a contract between owner and contractor, so if a detail is built in such a way as to not meet code and the owner gets in trouble, they have something to point to while in arbitration and say "i told you to do it right."

"build per building code" doesn't sound like a good note.  kind of like drawings from the 80's that say something to the effect of "put roof here."  a bit more vague than what I think is commonly expected of me.

Sep 5, 12 3:05 pm  · 
 · 

"if it were all just a matching of code to application, why would builders need us at all? "

Whoaaaa there, that's a question that just shouldn't even be asked.

Heresy, yo!

Sep 5, 12 3:27 pm  · 
 ·