Archinect
anchor

Help!! Questions regarding ARE exam eligibility!

archimax

I am currently a third year graduate student of a accredited architecture program at a SoCal architectural school. Before going back to school to obtain a Master in Architecture, I graduated from UCB with a BA in architecture, which is non-accredited. I also have worked for an arch firm in San Francisco for half an year full time between schools. I have been reading some materials regarding eligibilities on registering for the ARE. However, I am quite confused and not sure do I have enough credits for the registration yet. Can anyone give me some opinions on this? Will be very appreciated!!

max

Aug 14, 04 1:37 am
R.A. Rudolph

I think you will need to finish your degree before becoming eligible. If I remember correctly you need five years of work and/or school experience, and a masters qualifies you for 5 years as does an accredited 5 year undergrad program or a combo of work/school. You can always try to send in the app. and see what happens, I'm sure they'll tell you what is missing. Or call the California Architects Board, they are actually very helpful. you can find their number on the website.

Aug 14, 04 1:49 am  · 
 · 
archimax

Thanks....I read that an non-accredited degree in architecture actually receives 3.5 year credit. I have half a year of work experience, so that may count as well. However I am not sure any of my current study will count some credit or not.

Aug 14, 04 1:54 am  · 
 · 
Ormolu

If you do a non-professional architecture major in a 4-year program that is considered a "4" component of a "4 +2" program (i.e. you get a year of advanced standing in an M.Arch program and complete it in 2 or 2 1/2 years) then you can start counting work experience toward IDP after your third year of the undergrad major.

Go to www.ncarb.org and order the IDP package. This rule is stated in there.

Aug 14, 04 2:40 pm  · 
 ·