Archinect
anchor

Moving....across the country, ocean, planet

Starland Vocal Band

I am a grad school thread regular experiencing a temporary bout of paranoia, thus the new personality.

I've noticed that quite a few of us are going to be moving soon....some starting in June and then the rest of us will more than likely begin the exodus in July or August.

And I don't know about everybody else, but I have a lot of crap. Too much to fit comfortably in my car, and too much to just leave behind once I make the move, especially since I have no plans to come "home".

Does anyone have any insight into this moving cross country thing? I know it's going to be expensive, but anything I should avoid? Moving horror stories? Companies I should stay away from?

Mar 25, 07 8:00 pm
Starland Vocal Band

For instance, I found these "pod" things that you can have delivered to your door, you load it up and lock it, then the moving company picks it up and delivers it to your new address 5 or 500 miles away. This seems like a pretty good idea because I don't have to drive it but the movers don't have access to my stuff.

eh?

Mar 25, 07 8:03 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

I'm looking at a long-distance move this summer regardless of whether or not I go to grad school in the fall. I've made several such moves in the past, so I have a bit of experience in this matter.

I've usually used U-Haul in the past, and gotten friends to help load and unload the truck. Just a note about U-Haul, though: Your "reservation" doesn't really reserve anything; it just locks in a particular price. Whether or not the equipment is actually available when you show up is an entirely different matter. I found this out the hard way when I moved from Chicago to Philadelphia in 2002. Other truck rental outfits such as Ryder or Budget may cost a little more, but you actually get a real reservation.