Archinect
anchor

change order in lump sum project

davidneffarchitect

I'm working on a residential project right now with a fixed lump sum contract with the builder. He's been submitting change orders from his subs on his own letterhead without backup invoices from the subs or any explanation of what specifically comprises the cost.

I just asked him to send subcontractor invoices as backup and he told me that it's not a construction management contract and therefore he doesn't have to.

I then said that I'm not asking for backup on the base contract workscope but I feel change orders are outside of the original scope and need to be explained.

He then said that I've insulted him and he will quit the job before complying.

I'm not mistaken, am I? Isn't it standard practice to provide back up on change orders regardless of whether it's a fixed or construction management job?

Jul 17, 12 10:18 am
RH-Arch

I'm a novice, but it is also ethical to provide some transparency.  It doesn't sound like a good situation. You could speak to the client directly if he is the one contracting you.

Jul 17, 12 10:40 am  · 
 · 
jitter12

I think it all will boil down to what the contracts says.  I don't have residential experience, but  the contracts I generally administer require me to review all Applications for Payment and Change Order Requests for legitimacy.  It also states in the contract that any changes must have prior approval before work is done (and that any work outside the contract scope done without prior approval is at the contractor's risk).  I require backup on all change requests prior to approval.

Ultimately, it will come down to the contract and the Owner.  You are trying to protect the Owner's interests.  Will they back you up?

Jul 17, 12 11:27 am  · 
 · 
Rang

Bruce,

Can you give an example of the change orders he is requesting?