Archinect
anchor

IDP 2.0 rant thread

Not that I'm actively pursuing architectural licensure any more (for those who don't know, I'm a licensed landscape architect who is teaching at this point), but the transition to IDP 2.0 seems to be penalizing interns with lots of experience. 

Here are my IDP1.0 units and how they translate to IDP2.0 hours:

So I go from needing 203.2 to finish, to 554.73 hours - an increase of 273%. Note that I already have logged 7272 hours - twice what is supposed to be required to complete IDP 1.0. As ranted elsewhere, how come my experience (and specialization) doesn't matter? How come there are no alternative processes to completing IDP without paying a huge bribe* to NCARB?

Another thing, why is work setting F limited to NAAB/CACB accredited programs - lots of architects teach in other disciplines too!

* the fee for consideration as a 'broadly experienced architect' is $7000 or more!

Jan 10, 12 5:18 pm

Barry, is there no grandfathering allowing you to complete your hours under the same system you began them?

Jan 11, 12 8:04 am  · 
 · 
lletdownl

I think the grandfathering ended quite a while ago, there was a 6 month grace period ( i believe ending last july? or maybe it was july 2010) where people from the old system could submit all their hours before the rules change.

man im glad im not doing IDP anymore....

Jan 11, 12 9:56 am  · 
 · 
marmkid

it seems like you are counting all hours as equal, when they require different categories of hours.  The reason they do that is so each candidate has a broad range of experience and isnt just spending 3 years doing the same thing over and over again.  I am not sure why that is really unreasonable

just out of curiosity, since i am not going through this anymore, when you have already started the old version, and are now switching to the 2.0 requirements, who redistributes your hours into the new categories?  is it done automatically online?