Archinect
anchor

Why don't architects look like this anymore

drawmore.flounces

I am an artist, not an architect. But I will be giving a presentation on Derrida's deconstruction as applied to architecture, fashion and art. I am trying to figure out what happened in architecture since the 70's

I was listening to a lecture given by Rem Koolhaas and he said this type of architect doesn't exist any more. He described this guy as serious, reading some boring documents, happy only to see a project through that will assist humanity in some way. He went on to say architects no longer build things like this housing project on the right .

I understand that utopian modernist architecture kind of disappeared in the 70's because "the projects" didn't work so well (like with Pruitt Egoe). And I understand that postmodernism and deconstructivist architecture pushed out utopian modernism to some extent. But that can't be the whole story. According to Koolhaas, this guy dropped off the map 20 years ago.

There must be some other reasons why we don't see architects like this anymore. Where do you think this guy went? I understand a lot of you miss him.

Oct 7, 11 6:54 am
calculator

This guy was only hired for government projects.  Thirty others exactly like him went out of business.

Oct 7, 11 8:47 am  · 
 · 
Token AE

He only does waterproofing

Oct 7, 11 9:02 am  · 
 · 
toasteroven

architects who do this sort of work still exist to a certain extent - except the US government doesn't usually directly fund large-scale housing projects anymore.  they're funded by incentives and subsidies, and built by developers, and look more like this: