Archinect
anchor

Architecture Education Questions Please Help!!

kylec14

I am a high school student who is interested in becoming an architect. I am aware of the ARE, NAAB, and NCARB and all of that. However I have some queestions about the types of degrees you can earn. On the NAAB website where it lists the schools and the degrees they offer under the Master of Architecture degree (M.Arch) for some schools it says you have to already have an undergraduate degree and a certain amount of graduate credit hours and the other option says that you have to have a Pre-professional architecture degree (which i know is a 4 year non-accredited degree). What I am confused about is what do they mean by "undergraduate"? Do they mean an accredited B.Arch degree of some other related or unrelated undergraduate degree. I really want to go to specific schools and hoped that I had to earn a B.Arch and then an M.Arch. If I do not need to earn a B.Arch before the M.Arch and I still want to, does it make sense to? The schools that I really want to go to only allow you to have earned the "undergraduate" degree. I really love architecture and really want to pursue it as a career. Any good responses will really be helpful. Thank you.

Aug 3, 11 12:15 am
Milwaukee08

Well, someone can correct me if I'm wrong about this, but generally there are 3 types of M.Arch programs...something like a 1 yr M. Arch if you already have a B. Arch, a 2 year M Arch if you have a 4 yr pre-professional arch bachelors, and a 3 or 3 1/2 yr M. Arch for those with a non-architecture bachelors degrees.  Not all schools offer the same types, my school just offers the 2 yr and 3.5 year, which I think are the most common. 

I can't speak to doing a B. Arch followed by an M. Arch as I just have a BS Arch Studies.  I'm sure some B. Arch folks will be around to ask.

Aug 3, 11 2:14 am  · 
 · 
Lackey

As far as I understand, and with typical program lengths..

B.Arch  ->  M.Arch II     (5 + 1.5 yr)