Archinect
anchor

How much to charge as an interior designer?

MaDsg

Hey guys, 

I'm new to the US, in my country I'm an interior designer and architect and I wanna start getting interior design projects here, but I don't know how much to charge and how American professionals are charging in the Bay Area - California. Can anybody help me? 

Another thing that I'd like to know is how the interior design projects and plans look like in here, any good example of project or book that I can use as reference? 

Thank you very much.

Dec 8, 22 8:56 pm

Since you are in California, look here for the certification (ID) or licensing paths (ARCH). 

Interior Design certification (California): https://ccidc.org/

Architect licensure (California): https://cab.ca.gov/

This doesn't answer your question about how much to charge. Getting these may help you in getting better position in marketing by having the license.

Dec 8, 22 9:08 pm  · 
1  · 
citizen

I've heard rumors that ID projects are often priced by the throw pillow.  Unverified, but interesting.

Dec 9, 22 12:40 am  · 
 · 

First, I'd look at a per hourly rate equal: 

((base salary + benefits) x (2.5 to 3.5)) divided by 2080 hours as a quick & dirty approximate amount to charge per billed hour. You can then convert the estimates for fixed fee amounts by multiplying billed rate by reasonable estimate for the time it takes. I'd advise you to work with firm to get acquainted with the work involved. Use figures for base salary from based on lead project interior designer up to principal as the baseline. Look up what they would be in the bay area of California. Billed rate needs to be sufficient to provide you with a profit margin. You can flexibly adjust figures based on project scope details and all that goes with it. Do NOT waste your valuable time racing to the bottom just to get a client. Every client will love to pay you less or not at all if they can get away with it. Stand your ground and be professional about it.