Archinect
anchor

Do you own your IPs (Designs) and can you sell them?

Mouldi89

Hi Everyone,

My name is Mouldi I'm new to this forum, and i have an interesting idea that i thought this forum would be the best place to discuss it.

Few years back i worked as an architect, i had few jobs that i designed from scratch both with international firms and within my own practice (for a short period).  My clients never asked me for a 3D design and most of my contracts did not include the 3D models as deliverables, nevertheless i always created a beautiful 3D model of my buildings and i put a lot of effort in doing so.
My question is, do I own the IPs of those 3D models?, and can i sell them on the metaverse real-estate auction?

ps: i attached an image of one of the models.
Any thoughts regarding this subject is appreciated :)

Cheers
Mouldi

Jul 25, 22 11:57 am
Non Sequitur

Is this a serious question?

Jul 25, 22 12:19 pm  · 
 · 
Mouldi89

Yes it is.

Jul 25, 22 12:31 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Who is willing to pay real money for digital versions of commercial 3D models? It's an absurd concept. Just another crypto NFT scam waste of time.

Jul 25, 22 1:09 pm  · 
Mouldi89

Oh its a marketplace i upload my 3D models preferably housing and commercial 3d Models and i choose the starting price, people who visit the site will start bidding on the project, if they get it they can use it in all 3d applications (not necessary the metaverse). anyway this is not the question! As an Architect do I own those 3D models, or they belong to the clients ?

Jul 25, 22 1:16 pm  · 
 · 

Depends. What does/did your contract say?

Jul 25, 22 1:14 pm  · 
 · 
Mouldi89

​Very few of of my contracts state clearly that one of the required deliverables is the 3D model. In this case it's clear the client own the 3D model. But the rest of my contracts neve mention anything about the model or 3D renderings.

Jul 25, 22 2:09 pm  · 
 ·