Archinect
anchor

How to Deal w/ Client That Does Not Want to Apply for Permits

crisprods

Morning everyone,

Have worked for about 6 years designing and drafting for a architecture firms. Though not a RA yet.

Got a real estate agent friend that insisted I help one of his clients with a interior kitchen and living area remodel. I disclosed that I am not a licensed professional. They then revealed that they do not want to pull permits for this work, that was also my friends recommendation to them.

Clients were pretty laid back and agreed to my fee and requirements that I would only be a designer and not be involved in the construction of the project.

How can I approach the rest of this project to make sure that I protect myself and also do a good job, any experiences you can share? Things I should put in the plans?

Jul 19, 22 12:42 pm

Have it written into your project that the client is responsible for obtaining all required permits, inspections, and complying with all applicable building codes.  

Jul 19, 22 1:18 pm  · 
2  · 
b3tadine[sutures]

Maybe add something along the lines of, these drawings are to convey design intent, and are not considered for construction.

Jul 19, 22 1:48 pm  · 
3  · 

I would not prepare construction documents that would be for permits and like what Chad and b3tadine said for anything I prepare. Additionally, contract should always be in writing and you should have in the contract some term that you will not be held liable for any construction work they do without permits. 

Jul 19, 22 1:56 pm  · 
 · 
Miyadaiku

Are permits required and they are unwilling to apply or are permits just not required? Those are different things; I'll let you use your judgement on which one is ok.