Archinect
anchor

Let's begin a revolution?

Liberalitarian

There is no limit on ideas to be offered.

May 26, 22 7:21 pm
∑ π ∓ √ ∞

W3rd
May 26, 22 8:14 pm  · 
2  · 
midlander

forget gehry, this seems more like a project for elon musk.

May 26, 22 8:26 pm  · 
 · 

Here’s the letter I sent to AIA leadership tonight. I want a revolution that results in a caring world for all people.

Good evening all:

I sat in the restroom stall at my office today crying, because of the stories coming out of Robb Elementary School.  I feel broken, and so angry.

I've been a registered architect for almost 20 years, and I know - I KNOW - that we cannot design a building to protect against a person who wants to use an assault rifle to kill children. The tweet from the Committee on Architecture Education from yesterday was a common sense and passionate response (yes something can be both sensible and passionate - do we not believe our buildings to be able to be both firm and delightful?) asking our political leaders to take *actual* action. I'm concerned over why this tweet caused the AIA CAE account to be locked? Theirs is a point of view I want to be widely, loudly heard.

As a professional organization, we should *not* be advocating for "hardening" schools. We are architects for all people, and we should be advocating for a safe *society for* all people.  And, I hesitate to say this because it sounds so mercenary, but: if we as architects advocate for "hardening" schools it makes us *look like* mercenaries, like we are eager to get projects turning our schools into prisons. I want no part of a professional organization that would put our own potential jobs ahead of the lives of our community's children.