Archinect
anchor

CMU vs TU Delft

ansi

Hi everyone!

I got accepted into CMU (MSSD) and TU Delft (Building Technology Track). They're both great programs and I'm  grappling with a hard decision. I'm an international student, so post degree work opportunities is definitely a factor for me. Although I'm more partial towards the course at TU Delft, I feel like CMU's small class size and work opportunities in the US give it an edge.

I would love to hear opinions from you guys and any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Mar 20, 22 2:07 pm
robhaw

I am not sure if you are aware of it but the TU Delft Building Technology track also has a small student number. I have personally taken some electives from that track at TU Delft. I think the greater emphasis is placed on Computational Design and Fabrication.  The Facades group is very well reputed and has great teachers, however there is only 1 facade course and this is really covering the basics than in-depth aspects. The Climate Design part is barely adequate and I wouldn't recommend it. However, the academic level of the students is very high and you can learn a lot by working with others especially in the Bucky lab courses. Finally, the TU Delft network is exceptional and has connection to all the starchitect firms as well as multidisciplinary engineering firms like Buro Happold in London. Finally, there are several research-based roles available for alumni at the Built Environment faculty, like PDeng and PhDs. 

Mar 20, 22 3:24 pm  · 
2  · 
ansi

Hi, thanks for your insights. Climate design and Facades are both areas of interest for me. How big was your class there?

Mar 21, 22 10:08 am  · 
 · 
robhaw