Archinect
anchor

Thoughts on post-professional degrees?

LeCorboozeier

I graduated with my B.Arch a few years back and I’ve been working in the profession ever since. I had begun to miss the creative control that I had in academic studios, so I applied to a couple top tier post-professional programs (Harvard’s M.Arch II and Columbia’s MS.AAD) and was recently accepted into both. I’m seriously considering both programs but I’m struggling with the idea of piling another 6 figures of student loan debt on top of what I’ve already got. But on the other hand I’m sure the connections associated with either degree would help further my career. I don’t know very many designers who have experience with these degrees so I’d really appreciate some perspective. 

Thanks in advance!

Mar 16, 22 10:29 pm
Non Sequitur

don’t. Your future self will thank you when you’re trying to catch up to your friends without massive student dept. It’s not an investment, it’s an anchor. 

Mar 17, 22 1:08 am  · 
4  ·  1
hellion

Congratulations on your acceptance! 

There've been interesting points made in this thread similar to your concerns that I think you should check out:

https://archinect.com/forum/thread/150301225/2022-mla-vibe-check/0#last

I was in a similar situation not too long ago, so I get the kind of crisis you face. Pursuing graduate school is a great space and period to fine-tune one's critical thinking and develop new tools and techniques, especially if you've been out of school for a while.

The first question you should ask yourself is, what will you do after getting that degree: rejoin the workforce, enter academia/pursue a Ph.D., or start your own office? Will accumulating debt afterward be manageable for you depending on which path you take? Does the school/program guarantee you opportunities and some level of "success" only it can grant that no other school/ program can, whichever step you pursue next?